Natalie’s 2017 Reading List

book-collage

Since starting this blog with AB and Meg, I’ve been motivated to plan my reading. And although I don’t make resolutions, I thought a reading list may serve to keep me on track and read more books (with more variety) this year. Meg posted her list in December, and I was planning to just copy the ideas. But after spending way too much time on Pinterest (Do you follow us?), I decided to adapt several lists from various blogs.

  1. A book being made into a movie – The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman
  2. A YA novel – The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente
  3. A New York Times bestseller – The Whole Town’s Talking by Fannie Flagg
  4. Recommendation from a friend – Cinnamon and Gunpowder by Eli Brown
  5. A book with a number in the title – Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore (stay tuned for my review) by Robin Sloan
  6. A fantasy novel – The Red Queen (see AB’s review) by Victoria Aveyard
  7. A book originally written in a foreign language – The Prague Cemetery by Umberto Eco (I’ve read several of his novels, and if you’re interested, I recommend starting with The Name of the Rose, a fascinating mystery novel. He is also a masterful essayist. How to Travel with a Salmon is delightfully funny.)
  8. A book based on its cover – The Man Who Loved Books Too Much by Allison Hoover Bartlett
  9. A classic – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë (I can’t count the number of times I’ve read it, but it’s been a few years since the last time. And really, you can never read Jane Eyre too many times.)
  10. A self-help book – Home Comforts by Cheryl Mendelson (Because I need to learn to fold a fitted sheet…Maybe that could be my New Year’s resolution)
  11. A book published this year – The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden
  12. A historical novel – Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance
  13. A childhood favorite – The Family Under the Bridge (Featured in our Books & Bites: Christmas Edition post. I’ll be reading this to the kids at some point.) by Natalie Savage Carlson
  14. A thriller – The Trespasser by Tana French (You won’t be able to put down her thrillers. The Likeness is my favorite.) **UPDATED 2/9/2017: I finished The Trespasser, and while I enjoyed the crime story, the language was quite rough, rougher than previous books.**
  15. A book set in your state – The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver (She’s best known for The Poisonwood Bible, but this is her debut novel and it’s set in AZ.)
  16. A book about theology – A Loving Life by Paul E. Miller (Meg sent AB and I a screenshot of one page and that convinced me. She’ll be reviewing it at some point, so keep an eye out!)
  17. A book about literature or reading – Lit! by Tony Reinke
  18. A book on time travel – Outlander by Diana Gabaldon (Yes, I know. I’m way behind the rest of the world on this one.)
  19. A murder mystery – The Mutual Admiration Society by Lesley Kagen
  20. A book with a one word title – Commonwealth by Ann Patchett
  21. A memoir – Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham
  22. A book you were excited to buy or borrow but haven’t read yet – Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey
  23. A book with a reputation for being un-put-down-able – All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
  24. A book set somewhere you’ve never been but would like to visit – How Blue is My Valley by Jean Gill (She lives in Provence but also includes descriptions of Wales. Both places are high on my list of travel destinations.)

 

I’ve kept my list deliberately around 24 so that I get through a book every two weeks with some wiggle room to add others. Do you have a reading list this year? What book(s) are you excited to read in 2017?

This post contains affiliated links.

 

3 thoughts on “Natalie’s 2017 Reading List

Leave a Reply

