Talking as Fast as I Can, by Lauren Graham

lg-bookBy Lauren Graham             Genre: Memoir; Non-Fiction
Reviewed by Meg                 5/5 stars

My guess is that most people initially interested in this book are those who are fans of the hit TV shows Gilmore Girls or Parenthood, shows which both star Lauren Graham. She definitely timed the publishing of this second book of hers well, a few days after the much-anticipated Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life revival hit Netflix. But whether you are an avid Gilmore fan or not, I’m here as both a Gilmore Girls fan AND an avid-reader-of-good-books to convince you in 3 quick points why you want to grab this book of Graham’s essays and reflections on her career (with special emphasis on her 2 Gilmore Girls runs) and read it as fast as you can.

THE BEST WRITING METHOD EVER

The chapter entitled “Kitchen Timer” is worth the entire book. Seriously. No exaggeration. And actually the whole writing method that Graham shares in this chapter applies to more than just writing methods as well. I read the “Kitchen Timer Method” out loud to my husband yesterday, and we even talked through parts of it that could work for him with his study/writing methods for work, etc. I’m sure there are similar methods out there if you are a serious writer and want to buy books that take 12 chapters to outline a great writing method. But if you want one succinct chapter sharing a tried-and-true method gleaned from a very successful screenwriter, just get this book. It’s all you need. And now I’m ready to go be a writer.

LAUGH OUT LOUD FUNNY

I’m actually an avoider of the whole “LOL” craze (partially because I thought it meant “Lots of Laughs” for the longest time and couldn’t understand why people were expressing their laughter in this way – weird). But if there was one instance where I’d want to use it, it would be in describing this book. I genuinely, heartily laughed OUT LOUD during many portions of my reading. Graham is a fantastic storyteller, with the ability to take seemingly mundane life-instances and draw out the humor in them. Her depiction of an audition sight-reading Gershwin’s “Slap that Bass” had me, well – LOL! This chapter: also worth the entire book.

SHE WRITES LIKE LORELAI TALKS

ggt-1One of the things Gilmore Girls is most famous for is its fast-paced dialogue, chock-full of literary and cultural references. It’s hard to tell if Lauren Graham just imbibed the Lorelai Gilmore dialogue after all those years of speaking it or if she and Amy Sherman-Palladino (the GG writer/creator) just have a similar personality and writing style. Either way, I felt like I was reading a book written by Lorelai – which was incredibly fun and fast. I mean, yes, the book moved quickly, and I was done with it in a day. But it was also completely enjoyable and witty. I think she may have even surpassed Nora Ephron with her essays (in some ways, even referencing the great screenwriter with her talks about “neck flaps.” More LOL).

I have at least 4 other reasons why almost any standard reading person out there would love this book, but for the sake of being concise, I’ll just say – go buy it!  What, you’re still hesitating? Oy, with the poodles already.

PURCHASE Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (and Everything in Between).

lg-snow

This post contains affiliated links.
One thought on “Talking as Fast as I Can, by Lauren Graham

Leave a Reply

